COMMUNITY CULTURAL CENTER AUDITORIUM / MICROSOFT "TEAMS"

EAST HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT

MARCH 1, 2023

BUDGET WORKSHOP BOARD OF EDUCATION, POLICE and FIRE DEPARTMENTS

PRESENT Chair Richard F. Kehoe, Vice Chair Donald Bell, Jr., Majority Leader Sebrina

Wilson, Minority Leader John Morrison, Councillors Angela Parkinson, Awet

Tsegai, Thomas Rup, Travis Simpson and Harry Amadasun, Jr.

ALSO Mayor Michael P. Walsh

PRESENT Melissa McCaw, Finance Director

Connor Martin, Chief of Staff

Tyron Harris, Board of Education Chair, East Hartford Public Schools

Nathan Quesnel, Superintendent of Schools

Ben Whittaker, Chief Operations Officer, East Hartford Public Schools

Vanessa Jenkins, Board of Education Secretary, East Hartford Public Schools

Scott Sansom, Chief of Police

Mack Hawkins, Assistant Chief EHPD Robert Davis, Deputy Chief EHPD Joshua Litwin, Deputy Chief EHPD Donald Olson, Deputy Chief EHPD

Lieutenant Paul Neves, Support Services Commander, EHPD

Kevin Munson, Fire Chief

Steve Alsup, Assistant Chief EMS and Support Services

Jay Silver, Assistant Chief Operations

Justin Wagner, Fire Marshal

Mike Senerth, Alarm Superintendent Will Melendez, Master Mechanic Steve Purcell, Chief Training Officer

Brian Jennes, Captain Emergency Management

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kehoe called the meeting to order at 6:35 p.m. The Chair stated that this meeting was also available to the public through the "Teams" platform.

The Chair announced the exit locations in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes §29-381, after which the Council and those in attendance joined him in the pledge of allegiance.

Chair Kehoe provided an overview of the Council's review process for the Mayor's proposed budget, which will include a Public Hearing on March 8, 2023 and projected adoption of the Fiscal Year 2023-2024 Town Budget on March 13, 2023.

The following departments provided presentations on their activities for the year and goals for the future:

Board of Education (6:38 p.m.) Tyron Harris
Nathan Quesnel

Ben Whittaker

Police Department (7:58 p.m.) Scott Sansom

Mack Hawkins Paul Neves

Fire Department (9:40 p.m.) Kevin Munson

Steve Alsup Jay Silver

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION By John Morrison

seconded by Don Bell to **adjourn** 10:49 p.m. Motion carried 9/0.

Attest_____

Jason Marshall Town Council Clerk