TOWN COUNCIL CHAMBERS/MICROSOFT "TEAMS"

EAST HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT

FEBRUARY 28, 2022

BUDGET WORKSHOP/POLICE and FIRE DEPARTMENTS

- PRESENT Chair Richard F. Kehoe, Vice Chair Donald Bell, Jr., Majority Leader Sebrina Wilson, Minority Leader John Morrison, Councillors Angela Parkinson, Awet Tsegai, Thomas Rup, Travis Simpson and Harry Amadasun, Jr.
- ALSO Mayor Michael Walsh PRESENT Scott Sansom, Chief of Police Mack Hawkins, Assistant Chief EHPD Robert Davis, Deputy Chief EHPD Joshua Litwin, Deputy Chief EHPD Donald Olson, Deputy Chief EHPD Kevin Munson, Interim Fire Chief Stephen Alsup, Assistant Chief Josh Recker, Chief Medical Officer Ron Krystofik, Acting Chief Training Officer Justin Wagner, Fire Marshal Michael Senerth, Superintendent of Alarms William Melendez, Master Mechanic

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kehoe called the meeting to order at 6:40 p.m. The Chair stated that this meeting was also available to the public through the "Teams" platform.

The Chair announced the exit locations in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes §29-381, after which the Council and those in attendance joined him in the pledge of allegiance.

Chair Kehoe provided an overview of the Council's review of the Mayor's proposed budget, which will include a Public Hearing on March 9, 2022 and culminate in a projected adoption of March 15, 2022.

Mayor Walsh addressed the Council with a presentation on the crafting process on the budget in general as well as his recommended budget for the Police and Fire Departments.

The Council reviewed the following departments' 2022-2023 budgets:

Police Department: (7:00 p.m.)

Scott Sansom, Chief of Police presented an overview of the Police Department's budget and the Telecommunicators' budget and answered questions from the Councillors.

Fire Department: (8:20 p.m.)

Interim Chief Munson presented an overview of the Fire Department's budget and answered questions from the Councillors.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION By John Morrison seconded by Don Bell to **adjourn** 9:49 p.m. Motion carried 9/0.

Attest

Jason Marshall Town Council Clerk